think before you walk

Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park
Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park

This weekend we went for a bush walk after a long time. Feeling ambitious, we went for a 10 km hard walk. We started the walk at 2.40PM, they said they would close the national park around sunset, let’s say 5.45PM. The recommended walking time for the track is 4 hours. First 2 hours were fun, we took pictures and marvelled at the surroundings. Then we realized there was plenty more distance left to cover and started walking faster. Then the walk that was mostly down hill or level so far started going uphill.

Once we had gone around 2/3 of the way, I was dying. It’s not easy for an 9-5 office worker to be hard core bush walker on the weekends! I was so tired, I felt like I had no energy left. Luckily I had brought my big camera and 3 sets of lenses. Even more luckily my big and tough husband helped me carry it when I was struggling the most. Once we got up to the lookout, I didn’t even think about taking any pictures, it seemed like a too much of an effort.

Once the road got level again, my big and tough husband jogged ahead to get the car out of the park before they close the gates. We made it.
This is the picture I took of the sun set once I got to the gates, you have no idea how happy I was that the walk was over!

Leave a comment